2017-18 VA Craft Brewers Guild Leaders Announced

By Betty Arnold

The Virginia Craft Brewers Guild (VCBG) membership has elected its 2017-2018 Leadership Council. Eric McKay, Hardywood Park Craft Brewery will serve a second term as Chair and Sten Sellier, Beltway Brewing will serve as Vice Chair. Porter Hardy, Smartmouth Brewing and Hunter Smith, Champion Brewing Company will serve as Co-Chairs of the Government Affairs Committee. Neil Burton, Strangeways Brewing and Kevin Erskine, Coelacanth Brewing will serve as Co-Chairs of the Marketing & Tourism Committee. Janell Zurschmeide, Dirt Farm Brewing and Lisa Pumphrey, Lickinghole Creek Farm Brewery will serve as Co-Chairs of the Farm Brewery Committee. Kate Lee, Hardywood Park Craft Brewery and Shawn Phillips, Spencer Devon Brewing will serve as Co-Chairs of the Quality Committee.


“I wanted to finish some of our most important work before passing the torch, so I am appreciative of the opportunity to serve a second term.  Our Virginia Craft Brewers Fest, Virginia Craft Beer Cup, Quality Committee seminar series, and legislative agenda to grow independent craft beer are at an important point in their development,” said Eric McKay, Hardywood Park Craft Brewery.


The VCBG remains committed to independent craft breweries, helping them to competitively brew the best quality craft beer in the United States, and assisting them develop markets and new craft beer consumers.  The next major program of the VCBG will be the Virginia Craft Brewers Fest (August 19 in Charlottesville) during Virginia Craft Beer Month.  The VCBG is planning on this being the largest celebration of independent Virginia craft beer ever.


“This Leadership Council is absolutely committed to the success of every member.  Their generosity of time and resources are remarkable.  It’s an honor to work with these leaders and there are some major developments in store for the members this year,” said Brett Vassey, VCBG President & CEO.


Related posts